Paraparaumu College Sports Celebration 2017

This year’s sports celebration was held on 1st November and we were lucky to have 2 special guests on the night:  

Ged Robinson, former Hurricanes player, who gave a ‘Growth Mindset’ presentation and presented all the sports awards, and Andrew Knewstubb, who is an ex PC student and All Blacks Sevens player.  Andrew presented ties to our NZ representatives and title holders, listed below:

Cassius Papera – Handball
Meg Dempster – Equestrian (NZ Secondary Schools Title Holder)
Dima Gladkih – Judo (NZ Title Holder)
Dayna Haylock – Ten Pin Bowling (NZ Open Title Holder)

Congratulations to all those who received awards on the night.  A special mention goes to Paraparaumu College’s Sports Man and Woman of the year – Jamal Crawford-Spellacey and Ailish Akavi.  

Also, well done to Arna Voullaire for winning the Fairplay Award for Contribution to college sport and Ailish Akavi for winning the Workout Cup for Involvement and Commitment to College sport.

Paraparaumu College also had 6 finalists at the College Sport Wellington Sportsperson of the Year awards. The finalists were:
Ailish Akavi – Handball
Cassius Papera – Handball WINNER
Alex Rosson – Rowing
Grace Saywell Cycling
Hockey Boys 1st XI – Team of the year
Richard Pinckney – Coach of the year

Posted in News.